top of page

29nd April 2013


Victories for the Ladies & Men's B teams ensured Jersey claimed the overall bragging rights at the 2013 Inter-Insular however the Men's A team endured a fifth straight defeat after a dissapointing 8-1 defeat to the Sarnians.


The ladies match was a tight, close run, enthralling spectacle. Jersey took the early advantage as Emma Hawley defeated Astrid Allen by 3-0 then Liz Drew cast away the demons of previous Inter-Insular defeats with a fine 3-1 victory over Jo Ellis.  The ever young Alvena Renouf hit back for Guernsey before the interval with a solid 3-0 defeat of Tina Carver.

Being just one and not three behind at the break put the wind into Guernsey's sails and in a rematch of the Maple Leaf C.I. Cup between C.I. Champion Jenna Avrill & Sharon Le Page the result was reversed with Sharon winning 3-2 to level the match score at 2-2.  Lorraine Porter produced a fine performance and prevented Guernsey making it three in a row with a 3-0 win over Megan Billien but Jersey were pegged back again before the 2nd interval when as Jayne Vaudin eased past Jackie McCabe 3-0.

With the match poised at 3-3 the seventh game many thought would prove to be crucial with Jenny Couillard up against Tracy De La Haye and much to the delight of the away support De La Haye won it 3-1 putting Guernsey in front for the first time at 4-3 with just two games remaining. But in a must win game Donna Le Clercq showed steely nerves & resolve to produce a solid 3-0 win over Caroline Le Touche. At four games all you couldn't have asked for a better finale with two former C.I. Champions Angie Le Bailly & Yvonne Le Gallic going head to head in a winner takes all battle and what a battle it was. 2-1 down and on the brink of Guernsey retaining the trophy Angie battled back to win the game and match for Jersey amid scenes of jubilant celebration.​


Emma Hawley

Liz Drew

Tina Carver

Jenna Avrill

Lorraine Porter

Jackie McCabe

Jenny Couillard

Donna Le Clercq

Angie Le Bailly


















Astrid Allen

Jo Ellis

Alvena Renouf

Sharon Le Page

Megan Billien

Jayne Vaudin

Tracy De La Haye

Caroline La Touche

Yvonne Le Gallic       











​Jersey Men's B team produced another solid team performance to retain the trophy for the second successive year.

Up first for Jersey was Gasper who after a slightly nervous start ended what has been a fine winter season for himself with a 3-1 victory over Martin Young. Guernsey levelled the scores in the next as Alex Rosamund beat Dave Richards 3-2 in a game which in all essence could have gone either way. After a short delay caused by an inconsistency in the match format & electronic scoring system Aaron Forrest restored Jersey's lead with a 3-0 win against Lee Roome.

After the interval Guernsey levelled and once again, a game which could have gone either way was won by Richard Moullin 3-2 against Gary Powell. Guernsey also took the next, moving them in front for the first time in the match, Dave McLucas who has enjoyed a very good season couldn't seem to get going and lost to Darren Lilly 3-1. Jersey not wanting to go to the interval two behind needed a big performance and who better for the task then Kevin Channing who has never lost to Guernsey. Although it was not a vintage Channing performance he eased to a 3-0 victory against Andy McCarthy to keep his unbeaten record.

The pendulum had now swung back in Jersey's favour and although Jon Watkins was made to dig deep, he showed some of the form he has displayed throughout the winter season to defeat Neil Hutchinson 3-2. Many people believed Jersey next player (multi cap) Bobby Williams should have been selected for the Jersey A team and it would be hard to argue with them as Bobby turned in a match winning 3-1 win over a very good Kevin Brouard and in turn won the Man of the Match award. With the match victory secured it allowed the Jersey Classic quarter- finalist Ray Kennedy to see Jersey to a comprehensive win with a 3-1 win over Darren Langford.


Dave Richards

Aaron Forrest

Gary Powell

Dave McLucas

Kevin Channing

Jon Watkins

Bobby Williams

Ray Kennedy


















Martin Young

Alex Rosamund

Lee Roome

Richard Moullin

Darren Lilly

Andy McCarthy

Neil Hutchinson

Kevin Brouard

Darren Langford











Phil Speak

Stuart Moon

Nathen Le Bailly

Mark James

Eddie Le Bailly

Edward Le Bailly

Dave Moore

Craig Quemard

Steve Eusebini


















Micky Ogier

Chris Smith

Peter Allen

Robin Foss

Phil Dodd

Mark Fletcher

Lee Smith

Leyton De La Mare

Simon De La Mare











Well as the song goes two out of three ain’t bad, and that’s and that’s what Jersey got at the Inter Insular on Saturday.

It must be said that the 8-1 result was a bit harsh. The Jersey players selected have without doubt got the ability and prepared themselves in an exemplary manner before the game. It was said afterwards by a few people that we had no luck, and in retrospect I think they were right. There was very little difference in the individual darting averages of the two teams, and on another day the dart that lands against the wire might have gone in the double. We did get the man of the match award though, Stuart Moon received that for the highest average in his 3-1 win against Chris Smith.


I would like to thank all the players for the effort they put in on the day and the dedicated practice they put in each week. I would also like to thank Steve King, Paul Nolan, Bobby Williams and Lawrence Little who did an excellent job calling out the scores and Marie Thaureux and Amanda Cotillard who did the scoring. Stuart for his IT skills and input, Joe and Jess who helped out on the day, and Dave Moore who helped Martyn and myself put up and take down the darts stands.


Mike Weldrick
Jersey Manager

bottom of page